NEW YEAR, NEW LAWS
We've all heard it... new year, new me. Have you heard new year, new laws? Even if you haven't you will still be cited and "I didn't know" is not an excuse that works most of the time or in my case never. Here are three laws you should be aware of if you live in the Treasure Valley.
1.According to the ITD website. Vehicle owners will need to provide proof of insurance for two consecutive months or risk having their registration suspended beginning in 2020.
The law (Idaho Code Section 49-1234) was passed during the 2019 Idaho legislative session and goes into effect in January. It requires the Idaho Transportation Department’s Division of Motor Vehicles to determine monthly whether the owner of a vehicle has insurance.
Owners without insurance coverage for two consecutive months will receive a warning and be given 30 days to provide proof of insurance or obtain an exemption before their registration is suspended.
To reinstate a suspended registration, owners will need to provide proof of insurance and pay a fee of $75.
2. The hand free ordinance is now in effect in Meridian which means no cell phone usage not even at a stoplight. If you get caught you will be cited and fined $90.
3. If you happen to visit out friends in Ontario you must know that while Marijuana is legal, single use plastic bags have been banned in Oregon.
Welcome to 2020!